Oxygen XML Web Author includes a GitHub plugin that allows you to edit files
stored in a GitHub repository. The procedure in this topic assumes that this plugin is enabled
in your installation of Oxygen XML Web Author.
Open or Create File Stored in GitHub
To open a file stored in a GitHub
repository, use the dedicated
GitHub icon in the
Open section of
the main dashboard. To create a new file, use the dedicated
GitHub icon in the
New section. If your connection has not yet been configured, a
Configure GitHub dialog box will be displayed that allows you to
select the URL for the connection. For information, see
Creating or Opening Documents in Oxygen XML Web Author.
Commit a File to GitHub
To commit a file to a GitHub repository, select
the
Commit on GitHub action (or use the
Ctrl + S
(Command + S on OS X) shortcut). A dialog box will be opened that
allows you to enter a
commit message and choose the branch for which the commit will be
processed (you can also edit the name of the branch in this dialog box). It also includes a
Choose a previously entered comment drop-down menu that allows you to
select previously used commit message.
- When committing on a branch that is different from the branch of the currently opened
document and the branch does not exist, Oxygen XML Web Author will attempt to
create it.
- If someone else has committed the current document since you last opened it (causing
conflicts), a Commit Status confirmation dialog box will appear.
Figure: Commit Status Dialog Box
The
Commit Status dialog box allows you to choose the
following options:
- Click here link - You can click the link at the top of the
dialog box to see the difference between the two commits.
- Merge and commit - Merges your changes with versions that
were committed by other people and commits the merged changes.
- Commit on a new branch - Creates a new branch that contains
your version of the document so that you can merge the changes at a later time,
after the conflicts have been solved.
- Commit only my changes - Commits your changes regardless of
whether or not there was a conflict, and the changes made by the other user are
lost.
- Cancel - Cancels the operation and your changes are not
committed to the repository. Before cancelling, you could click the link at the top
to see the differences, correct the conflicts manually, and then commit afterwards
using the Commit only my changes option.