When you configure the Oxygen XML Developer options, you can store them globally or bind
them to a specific project by choosing the appropriate setting in the preferences pages. They
can then be shared with others by exporting the global options or by sharing the stored
project-level files. The same is true with transformation and validation scenarios.
Figure: Controlling the Storage of the Preferences
Global Options
By default, Global Options is selected in the preferences pages,
meaning that the options are stored on your computer and are not accessible to other users
(unless you export
them into an XML options file that can then be shared).
Global options are stored locally in the following locations:
- Windows (Vista, 7, 8, 10) - [user_home_directory]\AppData\Roaming\com.oxygenxml
- Windows XP - [user_home_directory]\Application Data\com.oxygenxml
- Mac OS X - [user_home_directory]/Library/Preferences/com.oxygenxml
- Linux/Unix - [user_home_directory]/.com.oxygenxml
Project Options
If you select
Project Options, the preferences are stored in the
project file and can be shared with other users. For instance, if your project file is saved
on a version control system (such as SVN, CVS, or Source Safe) or in a shared folder, your
team will have the same option configuration that you stored in the project file.
Note: Some pages do not have the Project Options switch,
since the options they host might contain sensitive data (passwords, for example),
unsuitable for sharing with other users.
Note: If changes have been made to the options in a preferences page and you switch between
Project Options and
Global Options, a dialog
box will be displayed that allows you to select one of the following:
- Overwrite - The existing options from the current preferences
page will be overwritten.
- Preserve - The existing options from the current preferences
page will be preserved.
For more information about sharing project files, see the Sharing a Project - Team Collaboration section.